fellowship north speaks

a place to talk about what's going on at FN

taylor hall’s trip to india: part 2

Yesterday we shared a little of Taylor’s experience this summer in India with Student Mobilization.  He shared about a student he met there, Abhishek. Today we have one more question for him…

What did God teach you in India?

I was meeting with Abhishek for maybe the 2nd or 3rd time.  We had just been hanging out and we had made our way back to talking about the Gospel and the person of Christ.  After a while Abhishek stopped me and asked me a pretty loaded question.  He looked at me and said, “I understand all of this, but, tell me Taylor, WHY ARE YOU HERE?” At first I didnt know what he meant. Why was I sitting across a table from him? Why was I in india? What did I think the meaning of life was?  But then he clarified…”Why are you telling me about Yeshu, or Jesus?”  Abhishek probably had no idea all about all of the thoughts that ran through my head at that moment, but as I collected and sorted through all of them, I was able to just launch into my testimony and explain that my life had been CHANGED radically by Christ.  That part was key: Changed.

Looking back on that, Abhishek asked me a very important question.  Packed inside of the question of “Why are you here?” lies the more important question:

“Do I, Taylor Hall, actually believe that the Truth that is found in the Gospel is absolutely, in and of itself, enough to radically change someones life?”

Do I genuinely believe that? It doesn’t matter how many times I say it, or how I present it in some cool new way, or how I can convince someone that it is truth; but do I believe that inside the gospel is a revolutionary truth that can change someone?  My conclusion was ABSOLUTELY!  And coming to that conclusion was incredible! It frees me up to be as bold as I want to, because in the end, it isn’t my responsibility to change someone’s heart. Its my responisbility to present Truth, and then to get out of the way! As I go into this fall, I find that to be a very comforting thing.  Our God is so much bigger and more powerful than we hardly ever give Him credit for!  I think that is one of the major things God revealed to me this summer.

Thanks, Taylor, for sharing your story with us!

Filed under: missions, , , , ,

Leave a comment